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ACCIDENTS INVOLVING ADOC VEHICLES 
 

I. GENERAL 
 

This Alabama Department of Corrections (ADOC) Administrative Regulation (AR) 
establishes responsibilities, policies, and procedures for handling and reporting accidents, 
or damage caused by or otherwise involving ADOC vehicles.  
 

II. POLICY 

All accidents or damage caused by or otherwise, involving ADOC vehicles, will be 
handled and reported in accordance with the procedures set out in Section V of this 
regulation. All reports and relevant documents should be filed with the appropriate 
departmental division as promptly as possible after the accident. 
 

III. DEFINITION(S) AND ACRONYM(S) 

A.        DORM:  The Alabama Finance Department’s Division of Risk Management. 
 

B.        DPS:  Alabama Department of Public Safety.    
 

C. Minor vehicular damage :  Damage to a vehicle that is less than $250.00 and not 
involving a death or injury to a person, as defined in the Code of Alabama, 1975, 
Section 32-7-5. 

 
IV.  RESPONSIBILITIES 
 

A. All employees involved in a vehicular accident while driving an ADOC vehicle, 
and in those cases, where the vehicle is being operated by an inmate, the inmate’s 
supervisor, will be responsible for reporting the accident in accordance with the 
procedures established in Section V.  
 

B. An employee in possession of or responsible for an ADOC vehicle which is 
damaged by means other than in a vehicle accident (for example: by vandalism or 

BOB RILEY 
GOVERNOR 

DONAL CAMPBELL 
COMMISSIONER 



2 of 4 
AR 310 – January 31, 2005 

 
 
 
 

accidental discharge of a firearm) shall be responsible for reporting such incidents 
in accordance with procedures established in Section V. 

 
V. PROCEDURES 
 

A. An employee involved in an accident or a supervisor of an inmate involved in an 
accident while driving an ADOC vehicle shall:  

 
1. Notify the appropriate law enforcement agency immediately in order to 

have the accident investigated and an accident report prepared, except in 
cases involving minor damage to ADOC vehicles only. 

 
2. If injuries are inflicted, ensure that medical attention is made available. 

Prepare an incident report and include the extent of the injuries for all 
parties.  

 
3. Notify Investigations and Intelligence (I&I) Division of the ADOC 

immediately after contacting the appropriate law enforcement agency, 
except in those cases involving minor damage to ADOC vehicles only. 

 
4. Admit no liability or responsibility and discuss the accident only with law 

enforcement officials or ADOC investigators. If alcohol or drugs are 
suspected and a law enforcement officer requests a breath or blood test, 
follow their directions. If you refuse the test, your ability to drive is 
immediately suspended for 90 days per Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 
32-5-192. 

 
5. Write down the name, address, telephone number, date of birth, and 

driver’s license number of each driver involved. Write down the name, 
address, and telephone number(s) of all witness(es). 

 
6. Write down the license plate number, year, make, model, and color of 

each vehicle involved.  
 

7. Complete the required accident report Form SR-13 and submit it to the 
DPS, or as applicable where the accident occurred. 

 
8. Call the DORM Claims Department and report the accident. Complete the 

Automobile Loss Notice (refer to AR 105, Use of State Motor Vehicles, as 
to where to retrieve said form) as soon as possible and send it to DORM. 

 
9. Submit copies of all documents associated with the accident (such as 

incident report, the investigating officer’s accident report, Form SR-13, 
and damage estimates) to the ADOC Central Office, ADOC Legal 
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Division, and the Draper Garage. The original copy of the Form SR-13 
should be forwarded to the DPS within 10 days.     

 
B.        An employee in possession of or responsib le for an ADOC vehicle damaged by 

means other than an accident shall: 
 

1. Notify law enforcement officials, if appropriate. 
   
2. Prepare and file an incident report as soon as possible but within 48 hours 

of the incident. 
  
3. Submit copies of all documents related to the accident (such as incident 

report, the investigating officer’s accident report, Form SR-13, and 
damage estimates) to the ADOC Central Office, ADOC Legal Division, 
and the Draper Garage. The original copy of the Form SR-13 should be 
forwarded to DPS within 10 days.    

 
C.        Accidents involving ADOC vehicles are to be reported according to applicable 

policy (AR 105, Use of State Motor Vehicles). If a State Motor Pool vehicle is 
involved, applicable guidance as provided by the Department of Finance must be 
followed. 

 
 

NOTE:     Under the Employee Auto Liability Program, an extension of the 
General Liability Trust Fund, employees of the ADOC are provided 
liability protection while operating state vehicles or personal vehicles 
in line and scope of their job duties of official business. Coverage 
provided damage is a $300,000 combined single limit for both bodily 
injury and property damage per accident regardless of the number of 
covered employees involved, number of injured parties, or extent of 
property damage. Employees who desire additional coverage should 
check with their personal automobile policy. The state does not 
reimburse employees for the cost of such riders.  

 
VI. DISPOSITION 

Any forms used will be disposed of and retained according to the Departmental Records 
Disposition Authority (RDA).  
  

VII. FORMS 

There are no forms prescribed by this regulation. 
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VIII. SUPERCEDES 

This regulation supercedes AR 310, dated May 17, 1999. 
 

IX.  PERFORMANCE 

A. Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 14-1-8 
 
B. Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 32-7-5 

 
C. Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 32-5-192 

 
 
 
 

                                                                                       
 


